Senior Life!

Written by: Olivia Gómez

I lay restless in bed on a warm sunday night. The room was mostly dark, except for the bright light emerging from my phone screen. I was watching a video about how teenagers don’t get enough sleep: “Tell me about it” I thought as my eyes searched the hour on the phone. 2:30 am and not a bit tired; this, normally, wouldn’t worry me, but the first day of school happened to start the next morning. The first day of senior year, for that matter. I didn’t want to be tired. I wanted to make a good first impression on my teachers. I wanted to act like it was going to be just another day, but it wasn’t just another day. It was the first day of my last high school year. It was the beginning of the end.

Was I nervous? Not really. Did it feel different? Hell yeah, it did. I’ve felt this feelings before, when I was a middle school senior, I’ve felt the weird jitters that are born when you realize you are the oldest generation in the place and the weird sense of responsiblity that comes with that title. You feel cool, like everybody looks up to you, but you don’t really know why they look up to you. You feel like you own the place because you finally know how everything works and you finally know every corner of it. All the attention is focused on you. You are the graduating generation. I feel chills running down my spine every time I think of that.

A week has passed since the first day of school and the feeling hasn’t gone away and I don’t think it will. I don’t know about you, but I certainly feel all the pressure of the world on my shoulders. Everyone expects you to start doing great things because teenagers are dreamers and they have all the time in the world! The bar has been set pretty high lately and I sort of suck at jumping (although, flying sounds super cool). So, in our last year we find ourselves with all these mixed feelings of responsibility, coolness, pressure, joy, melancholy, etc. And maybe, that’s a good thing. Perhaps those feelings are here to remind us that we won’t see most these people after the year is over and we’re all out and done with high school. I guess the last year of any type of school (elementary, middle, high, university, etc.) is for us to enjoy everything we have been whining about for the past two years. Regardless of all the pressure on our shoulders, us teenagers shall rise to the occasion, laugh, cry, get angry, get happy, jump, dance, fool around and leave the best mark we possibly can in our community. The best part is we get to enjoy every second of it. Because, you know, YOLO.


Follow us everywhere for more stuff like this (we also post some videos every now and then)!

Social Media:

P.S. You can also follow me everywhere!

  • Twitter: @OliviaGomez_98
  • Instagram: @oliviagomez98
  • Snapchat: olivogomez
Leave a Reply

