It is all a matter of perspective.

Written by: Olivia Gómez

The world has had a few caotic days, weeks, months, and years. Somehow we managed to forget all that is important. Somehow, amongst all this violence, hate, fanatism, religion, politics, and whatnot, we forgot about ourselves.

Lately, the world has been crazy. We’ve had one disappointing event after another. We’ve been seeing a badly-tanned man stand up and preach everything that is wrong. We saw people blame a mother for the death of a gorilla after her little boy fell in the cage and say “it should have been her”. We heard about the horrors of the Orlando mass murder and mourned the lives lost that night. We watched as a country decided to leave a union, changing its future forever. We’ve been hearing about the violence and the wars going on in so many countries around the globe.

A light shone on the dreary, dark side of humanity and I remembered all the things that are wrong about me. I remembered how I say stupid things without even thinking. I remembered how I tend to live in the past or the future and forget about the present. I remembered my mortality and how real it is. I remembered my lone ranger attitude towards my community. I remembered my self-destruction.

A light shines on the dreary, dark side of humanity, but I choose to remember all the things that are right about me. I remember how I say the funniest things without even thinking about them. I remember all the stories and fantasies that constantly fuel my imagination and creativity. I remember all the things I’ve done that make my mortality a little less scary. I remember everything I have ever discovered about myself whilst being a loner. I remeber my rise from the ashes and my transformation into the person I am today.

So, when the world has had a crazy few days, I choose to remember all the good things about it. I choose to remember all the colors. I choose to remember all the songs. I choose to remember all the art. I choose to remember all the languages. I choose to remember all the cultures. I choose to remember all the love. 


Show us all the love you’ve got on our social media!

Official Links:

Personal Media:

2 comments

Leave a Reply

