A thought about decisions

Written by: Olivia Gómez

Here’s the thing about decisions; I suck at them, especially if the matter is of great importance. I spin things in my head for more time than its necessary. I picture every single scenario that could come as an effect of  choosing an option; and, boy, do I complicate things. Honestly, I blame it on my imagination (I mean, everything has its dark side, amirite?). I think that if I didn’t have such a developed sense of creativity, life would be so much easier. Maybe not on every aspect, but definitely on the subject of decision-making. 

I am no expert in the matter. I’ve never been and I probably never will be. But, I’ve reached a point in life in which I have to make one of the toughest decisions. I have to pick a university. Obviously, in the earlier years of my existance, I had never really given a thought to this. Not in actual objective thinking, anyways.

See, most of the kids in my high school generation are planning to stay here, in the lovely Monterrey. That means they are probably going to pick from two universities; ITESM or UDEM. That means they probably already have direct entrance to one of them. However, there is a small group of kids (like me) that want to study abroad and have to think a little bit more about where they want to go to school.

I’ve always known that I want to move to England, so, naturally, that’s where I focused my research on. I talked to people, looked at websites, flipped through pamphlets, compared academic programs, I even looked at the cost of rent in the different cities I’m looking at, and I’ve narrowed it down to two universities. The two lucky institutions are “University of Bristol” and “University of East Anglia”. Both schools stood out to me because of their academic level, their variety of subjects and their international community. There are many other factors that come into play, but I’ll leave it on that short list, for now.

Next semester, I’ll be applying to one of the two and I’m not even remotely sure of which one will I pick. The good thing is, I’m visiting their facilities this summer!

I definitely hope that this trip will help me come to a decision because if it doesn’t I guess I’ll just have to flip a coin for it. Because, you know, I suck at decisions.

P.S. If you want to see how the trip is going, you should totally follow me on instagram and twitter! (I’ll leave the links down below). Also, you can subscribe to our youtube channel so that you can get a glimpse of our adventures!

 

Leave a Reply

